American fever : a novel / Dur e Aziz Amna.

"For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America. "This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice."-Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl. On a ye...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Online Access: REQUEST THIS BOOK
Main Author: Aziz Amna, Dur E (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Arcade Publishing, [2022]

MARC

LEADER 00000nam a22000008i 4500
001 b12751574
003 CoU
008 220426s2022 nyu 000 1 eng
005 20231002224742.0
010 |a 2022019745 
020 |a 9781950994496  |q (hardback) 
020 |z 9781950994502  |q (epub) 
035 |a (DLC)dda9781950994496 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC 
042 |a pcc 
050 0 0 |a PS3601.Z59  |b A84 2022 
100 1 |a Aziz Amna, Dur E,  |e author. 
245 1 0 |a American fever :  |b a novel /  |c Dur e Aziz Amna. 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Arcade Publishing,  |c [2022] 
300 |a pages cm. 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent. 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia. 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier. 
520 |a "For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America. "This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice."-Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl. On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama. A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. American Fever is a compelling and laugh-out-loud funny novel about adolescence, family, otherness, religion, the push-and-pull of home. It marks the entrance on the international literary scene of the brilliant fresh voice of Dur e Aziz Amna. "--  |c Provided by publisher. 
776 0 8 |i Online version:  |a Aziz Amna, Dur E.  |t American fever  |d New York : Arcade Publishing, [2022]  |z 9781950994502  |w (DLC) 2022019746. 
856 |u https://libapps.colorado.edu/printpurchase/?isbn=9781950994496&author=Amna, Dur e Aziz&title=American Fever  |z REQUEST THIS BOOK 
907 |a .b127515744  |b 08-12-22  |c 08-12-22 
998 |a lib  |b  - -   |c    |d m   |e z  |f eng  |g nyu  |h 0  |i 0 
956 |a UCB print DDA 
999 f f |i 0dcedadf-6e31-59dd-aab1-2a8114f5b5b2  |s 8e2add0f-355b-5ad5-9359-8c3cdca3ea28